part two.

I have been holding on to the words God whispered to my heart that Sunday, when He told me I would be a “fisher of men,”  or really man, just one, if you will. But humanly forgot the “Come after me,” part.

This past Sunday was the Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ. The priest obviously talked about the beautiful mystery of the Eucharist as the Source and Summit of our faith, our lifeline and the True Presence of our Savior. It was a great homily. It called me to really reflect about the act of receiving communion. How I physically walked up, held my hands out, and received the Body of Christ. It reminded me of  when I was a little girl. I used to pretend that when I was walking up the aisle to communion, I was walking up the aisle to my wedding. And as soon as I had that thought, I heard God’s sweet, tender and unconditionally loving voice say,

“Make Me your Groom.”

Chills shot through my spine. I had never thought of it like that. I had never actualized that when I walked up the aisle to communion, I was walking up to my wedding. Every Sunday. But it goes so far beyond the celebrations at Mass. I knew He meant every day.

This was the “Come after me,” part. This was the part I had over looked. I have to make Him my groom. That was all He said, and I understood everything it meant. It isn’t going to be easy. I know that. I really struggle with trust. It is so hard for me to maintain trust. I’m just like Peter, I hear the wind and see the waves and freeze in fear. It almost makes me scared. I’m afraid I won’t be able to do it. And if I’m not able to do it, I don’t think I will be able to have a healthy relationship with someone. I know this fear and worry are from the Devil. God has promised me all these great things, and the Devil wants none of it to take place. But the fear and worry seem so real. And then I am reminded of Isaiah 41:10:

“Fear not, I am with you; be not dismayed; I am your God. I will strengthen you, and help you, and uphold you with my right hand of justice.”

So not only has He asked me to make Him my groom, He has promised to help me do it. Can we just talk about how much intense love is overflowing from that?!

“Come after me”→translation→”Not because I am far from you, I am with you, but so that you will know Me better”

“Make Me your groom”→translation→”So I can show you how deep my love for you is, and can show you how to love”

Our God is so romantic. He makes my heart swoon. And He wants to be my groom!!!! I am so taken. I once read a quote saying, “A woman’s heart should be so wrapped up in God that a Man has to ask Him for directions.” I desire that. I want my heart to be so wrapped up in my groom, that my future husband has to go to God.

I am excited to start this journey. To be courted by the Author of Romance…to be continued….

Leave a Reply

