part four: what i want…sort of….

So I have been reading a lot of articles, and also in the process of reading a book, about relationships. Specifically, waiting to meet the right person, or what to look for, or what not to look for, or what to be, or who not to be. A lot of Do’s. But seemingly even more DON’T’S. Like ever. It seems like a lot of keep up with, really. But one common theme I saw in most of these articles, posts, and chapters, secular and spiritual, was to spend your time as a single person learning about, growing in, getting to know and loving yourself. Like actually, all of them suggest that.

I have thought about that before. Obviously. But somehow, every time I try to start “working on myself,” I always end up thinking about my future husband…again.

But then I got a new thought. I want to think of the person I want to be for Him. With a capital H. And from that I started thinking about what I would want my Heavenly Groom to say about me, and eventually what my future husband to say about me.  So I came up with a list of things I want my Heavenly Groom to say about me:

She’s so…

Faithful

Loving

Dedicated

Beautiful

Strong

Smart

Mine

And then I thought about a list of things I would want my future husband to say about me:

She’s so…

Christ centered

Loving

Sweet

Helpful

Generous

Beautiful

Passionate

Funny

Forgiving

Mine

When I made these lists, I could see how so many of them overlapped. It is so easy for me to focus on what I want in someone else, than preparing myself to be the best version of me for them. I could see from this list that if I work towards the things I want God to say about me, the things I want my future husband to say about me will flow out from those things. I feel like having a set list of things I want to work towards will help me stay focused on me. We’ll see…to be continued….

Leave a Reply

